2014 Advance Practice Nurse Excellence Award – our very own Laura Mesenbrink

Article below from the Medical College of Wisconsin newsletter.

Four Advanced Practice Providers honored

The fifth annual Advanced Practice Provider (APP) recognition event was held May 8, and more than 160 people attended. The theme, Teamwork in Health Care, was introduced by Tom Haudricourt, the keynote speaker.

Haudicourt is a beat writer for the Milwaukee Brewers Baseball team and is currently receiving care at Froedtert Hospital. He used humor and insight to share his personal experiences with receiving care over the last 12 months.

“Froedtert Hospital and the Medical College of Wisconsin depends on the talents and efforts of all members of the team – the nurses, the APPs, the doctors, the cast room, the receptionists,” Haudicourt said. “Healthcare is not unlike baseball, relying on the collective strengths of the team to reach the highest quality outcomes possible.”

Jamie Silkey, PA-C, served as the program emcee, emphasizing the synergy and integration of APP leadership initiatives between Froedtert Hospital and the Medical College of Wisconsin this past year. Silkey specifically called out key accomplishments and highlighted APP inclusion into the clinical goal of reducing catheter associated urinary tract infections.

More than 250 physician assistants and advanced practice nurses provide healthcare to adult patients across this system. This year, one Certified Nurse Anesthetist and one Clinical Nurse Specialist were recognized in addition to one Physician Assistant and one Advanced Practice Nurse. All nominees were profiled in a slide presentation.

Nominated by peers and selected by colleagues for contributions to excellent patient-centered care, the 2014 Excellence in Practice Award winners are Laura Mesenbrink, NP; Courtney Johnson, PA-C; Melissa Paulson-Conger, CNS; and Jane Deering, CRNA. Congratulations to the award winners and to all of the nominees.

2014 Froedtert & the Medical College of Wisconsin APP Practice Excellence Award Recipients – (l-r) Courtney Johnson, PA-C; Jane Deering, CRNA; Laura Mesenbrink, NP; and Melissa Paulson- Conger CNS